My Bikescapade: A Walk

on

Cross posted from GCimages. Originally posted on Oct. 23, 2012.

SOURCE: Vinoth Chandar/Flickr

In some bizarre, twisted thought process I told myself I’d do something pretty outrageous.

After a week of no biking, last week’s commute to work was pretty tough. By Thursday my legs were on fire, my knees didn’t want to bend, my hips were in protest with every movement. SO— on Friday, I decided in my not-quite-crazy-idea-at-the-time moment, to walk to work.

Why?

In addition to giving myself a break and for my muscles to recoup, I thought walking would be a tame alternative to keep me moving but in a not-so-vigorous manner. I also really, REALLY didn’t want to ride the bus because it just makes me groggy and sets an off tone for my day.

So off I went!

And it rained.

And rained…

and rained.

It took 1.5 hours to get to work, and while the slow pace was meditative and pleasant (even if it was raining), my legs were in more pain then if I had just jumped on the bike. By the time I got to work it hurt to sit or stand, my right ankle was stressed and the bottom of my left foot was sprained. Horrible.

But it was worth it and I’d totally do it again.

-30-

Leave a Reply

