Moving Foward in 2013

on

originally posted on my other blog.

Another year has passed, another year begins. It just seems like only yesterday I was mustering up some kind of conceited effort to write the obligatory “year in review” post, and yet here I am, in 2013 mustering up effort yet again to do another review post.

Blue Moon
(why do people like review posts and lists and resolutions so much?)

Anyway.

The year 2012 is basically the year I realize how invaluable having a journal of some kind is… well, mostly how valuable and handy it becomes when trying to recall those activities from earlier in the year. I mean, really. January 2012—all I remember is turning 25, and finishing my final class to get my BA in journalism. But all of the crazy shenanigan-reminiscence to come shortly. First, the blog.

(I also know that it’s already 2013, so my “2012 was friggin’ awesome” post is fashionably late.)

When I almost doubled the number of posts written in 2011, I was pretty excited. For a newbie blogger, going from writing 30 blogs in 2010 (the first year I started) to 51 in 2011 was a pretty big feat. I’m excited to say that 2012 was even better in the blogging adventures surpassing well beyond 51 blogs, for a total of 127 posts. (Of course, this doesn’t include other posts I have written for my newly minted bike blog I decided to start, or posts I’ve written for Education Week!)

GF apple-banana bread
Not bad for a year of craziness and transitioning from getting a bachelor’s degree to stepping into the world of trying to find sustainable work (which still continues).

In my blogging encounters for 2012, the one thing I learned was recognizing when something has lost its interest and dropping the project without guilt or shame. Last year, I decided to embark on a self portrait project. After seeing other people’s portrait projects, I was slightly inspired to do my own. Summary: I got bored, and rather than force myself through the rest of year photographing myself, I told myself there’s no shame in abandoning the project, since the abandonment itself could speak to the overall project itself.

The other thing I learned in my efforts to find inspiration and blog fodder, was that there is just SOOO MUCH TO FRIGGIN’ READ, and so little time to parse through them and my thoughts on certain issues and write about them. But maybe that’s the devil of blogging: trying to maintain consistency on your site, but producing meaningful and insightful content. I’m still figuring this one out.

In general, there doesn’t seem to be any rhyme or reason to my content, but 2012 was full of crazy shit and my focus seemed to be on topics about women and the institutional patterns of sexism and homophobia that exists in our society today.

bike wound
Overall, 2012 was basically the year I was able to find topics I was interested in on varying levels, and figuring out which ones to really pursue in light of the climate.

With academics no longer taking up most of my focus, I found interest in organic agriculture, urban ag and community gardens; bicycling; and the intersectionality of social issues ranging from gender, sex, socioeconomic, and education. It’s been a little crazy for my brain (and eyes).

I did publish a “year in review” post about my blog posts based on stats, but I wanted to take another approach and list out some of my favorite posts I wrote down below (some will be from this blog).

So what about the non-blog world? Well, like I said. Last year was the year I realized how helpful a journal could be when trying to remember past shenanigans for these obligatory year-end-review posts. Of course, your journal is only as good as how consistent you were about writing in it. Which I can say wasn’t all that great, but I do average at least one hand-written entry a month. So hey. At least there’s something chronicled in there.

Anywho-

First flat, by a two-and-a-half-inch nail
I turned 25, finished my BA in journalism, applied for a bunch of jobs and landed an internship at a weekly education newspaper in Bethesda, Md. I’m still working at the paper, as an intern. I love the paper, but I’m ready to shed the title “intern” (and get more than intern pay).

I’m sure I don’t have Celiac disease, but last year I learned I may have an intolerance to gluten (yes, I went to the doctor and an allergist) which sent me on a frustrating path on playing with food and learning the quirks of cooking and eating wheat/barley/rye-free. Annoying? Yes, but I don’t feel sick all the time anymore, except when I eat a lot of cheese. But I already knew about the dairy issue long before the gluten issue.

Interestingly enough, you just stop caring about wanting to eat all the pasta salad in the world, and all the pizzas. I still get cravings, but feel better when I eat a monstrous-sized bowl of salad with toppings of goodness.

flying out to Wisconsin
Saw a few movies… which now that I think about it, 2012 was the year of action hero movies—remade and “updated” for modern audiences. A little disturbing. Where all the original movies and narratives at? My top faves from the year: Moonrise Kingdom and watching 2001: A Space Odyssey at the AFI Silver.

AND who can forget that M and I bought our bikes last year! Our first day on the bike, I eat dirt and will have the scars on my knee to remind me of that pathetic moment for the rest of my days. It was a tough go at first, but I’ve gotten to the point where I mentally feel more comfortable biking—and want to bike everywhere—instead of driving or riding the bus. But reality is: some days you can’t bike.

(And here I realize how disappointing my journaling skills are. Mostly reminders on being better and writing more…)

For Thanksgiving holiday I got to spend a few days with family in Wisconsin. The last time the whole family was together was about 12 years ago, so this was kind of a big deal. It was great. Lots of family time boozing.

So what does this all mean for me and 2013? I have no idea. Here’s to looking forward to better opportunities, more bikes, more photography, more arts, more self improvement, more of everything else I left out.

Cheers!

-30-

Blog posts you might like:
Designing Bicycle Culture from the Ground Up

Yoga angers parents

rape, and the right to choice

starting my adventures in bicycling

local farms, better food

the olympics, athleticism, and female body

revisiting the culture of poverty

news, sanitized

Leave a Reply

