Peanut Butter and Rubbing Tires

on

peanut butterI don’t know if it’s the drastic changes in temperatures here (we went from 80°F a week ago, to 45°F this week…) or perhaps it’s the strangeness of running out of food in the pantry and icebox, but whatever the reason, yesterday was perhaps the hardest commute.

It wasn’t because my muscles were protesting, or I was super tired. I just felt… not good.There was a tightness in my gut. When I got home I felt utterly spent but no amount of water seemed to be doing anything. I became disgruntled and irritable. I didn’t want to be around people. I resorted to eating straight out of the peanut butter jar.

That seemed to help, but only marginally.

I pushed myself to go to the grocery store to get some food. It was probably one of the more laborious grocery trips taken alone.

I made (super hot) curry, my fave, but even that didn’t seem to really get me out of my funk.

What’s going on bike friends? Was I suffering from some kind of nutrient deficiency?


This morning I woke up with that same funk feeling, though not as bad as yesterday evening.

I was also witness to one of those bad ideas gone wrong moments.

These two kids bike the same trail I use to get to work sometimes, and today they were ahead of me. Normally, I would’ve made an attempt to pass them, but today I decided to just stay back and “stroll” on the bike. Next thing I know, the taller of the two starts trying to rub the font of his tire with the rear of his friend’s tire.

They go about like this for a while, back and forth across the width of the trail and then you hear that “pbzzzzzz” rubber rubbing sound.

And…

wipe out.

Taller friend pestering shorter friend just falls sideways.

I didn’t come to a complete stop, but slowed down to ask if they were okay. I probably should have stopped, but I wasn’t really fully there…

Here’s to a better commute home later today.

-30-

One Comment Add yours

  1. Bonnie says:

    Love the title! I’ve been in a slump too. It must be the weather!
    Happy biking!!

Leave a Reply

