A little bit of Coney

My first 4th of July in NYC and it was low key. Very low key.

I heard the fireworks, but didn’t go anywhere to see them. Instead, I took a short afternoon trip out to Coney Island. My first time down there, and I only visited half of it. And for not very long. I was probably out for a total of an hour and a half.

I didn’t have any particular reason for going to Coney Island. Aside from having never been there before, I just cleaned my bike and thought it would be a dandy opportunity to “set” the chain-lube.

Ocean Parkway is a nice stretch of a bike path from the southern end of Park Slope all the way down into Coney Island. The only major hiccup I’ve noticed are all the cracks in the asphalt of the bike lanes and the sometimes very scary “lips” to the bike lanes at intersections.

Seeing the older folks, sitting on the benches alongside the bike lanes, I found adorable and very quintessential of what I imagine an Italian community is. It was also a very big Jewish community, and the mix between the two offers an image that almost says “wait, stop for a second and smell the air.” Or roses, whichever suits your fancy.

These people were just enjoying the moment. And it was really comforting to see that even while I was pedaling down towards the boardwalk.

Coney Island Ride
The “empty” half of the boardwalk
The boardwalk

I didn’t stay very long, and at first I thought it was strange that the place wasn’t packed more than it was. Of course, I only walked half the boardwalk, and only after I got home to look at the map did I realize that I walked the non-amusement park side of Coney Island.

Womp.

That’s okay though. Just means I have the other half to explore for another trip, which may be this Thursday if I got out again with Social Cycling NYC.

Coney Island Ride

🚲
One Comment Add yours

  1. Bonnie Plastow says:

    I’d like to see the people sitting on the benches and experience the different groups of people too.

Leave a Reply

